Skip to main content

Tag: Representative Marie Gluesenkamp Perez (D-WA)

Updates on the VA Final Rule and NDAA Workforce Amendment

House Passes Language to Stop FY2025 Start of VA Final Rule

On June 5, the U.S. House of Representatives passed the FY2025 MilCon-VA-Related Agencies Appropriations bill. Included in the bill was language championed by Subcommittee Chair John Carter (R-TX) and Representatives Ryan Zinke (R-MT), Michael Guest (R-MS), Val Hoyle (D-OR), Brad Finstad (R-MN) and John Rutherford (R-FL) amongst numerous others that would prohibit the Department of Veterans Affairs from using funding during FY2025 (October 1, 2024 through September 20, 2025) to implement the Final Rule on Special Modes of Transportation. The Rule would reduce reimbursement under the VA travel pay program to Medicare rates for noncontracted ambulance services.

The Association of Air Medical Services, and several air and ground ambulance service organizations, as well as the AAA had submitted requests to several of the offices on language. In addition, the Committee included report language directing the VA to work with stakeholders to identify appropriate levels of reimbursement and to report to Congress on those efforts.

FY25 VA Approps Special Modes Language

Perez/Finstad Offer NDAA EMS Workforce Amendment

Representatives Gluesenkamp Perez (D-WA) and Finstad (R-MN) have submitted a bipartisan amendment (No. 809) to the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) (H.R. 8070) that would provide states with funding to help cover the transition costs of a military medic becoming a civilian paramedic or EMT when leaving the Armed Services. The language of the amendment is a modified version of the provision included in the PARA-EMT bill (H.R. 6433) being championed by Gluesenkamp Perez and Finstad.

The AAA along with the National Association of EMTs and National Rural Health Association worked with the two congressional offices on the revised legislative text. The House Rules Committee is expected to meet the week of June 10 to determine the rule for floor consideration of H.R. 8070 and decide on allowed amendments.

Also, NAEMT working with the House Armed Services Committee was able to get report language to accompany the NDAA directing the Department of Defense to provide a report to the Committee on efforts to help ensure that EMTs and paramedics are better positioned to make the transition to the civilian workforce upon leaving the military

NDA EMS Workforce Amendment

AAA Submits Paramedic Expedited Visa Comments in Line with PARA-EMT Act

On May 13, the AAA submitted a Comment Letter to the Department of Labor (DOL) in response to their Request for Information (RFI) on modernizing the process and updating the occupations that fall under the Schedule A program. Schedule A is a program administered by DOL which allows for expedited visa processing for occupations with a predetermined workforce shortage. The AAA advocated in our letter for the DOL to add paramedics and EMTs to Schedule A which currently includes nurses, physical therapists and individuals with exceptional abilities in the sciences and arts.
The comment letter by the AAA is in line with a provision of the PARA-EMT Act (H.R. 6433) by Congresswoman Gluesenkamp Perez (D-WA) and Congressman Brad Finstad that would direct DOL to conduct a study on the EMS workforce shortage and report to Congress on consideration by the Department to add paramedics and EMTs to the list of occupations under Schedule A.

Gluesenkamp Perez and Finstad Introduce EMS Workforce Shortage Bill

Yesterday, November 15, Congresswoman Marie Gluesenkamp Perez (D-WA) and Congressman Brad Finstad (R-MN) introduced the Preserve Access to Rapid Ambulance Emergency Medical Treatment (PARA-EMT) Act (H.R. 6433). H.R. 6433 is the first broad, stand-alone piece of legislation specifically designed to focus solely on helping address the EMS workforce shortage.

“We greatly appreciate the leadership of Congresswoman Gluesenkamp Perez and Congressman Finstad on introducing this momentous legislation to assist with the hiring and retention of paramedics and EMTs,” stated AAA President Randy Strozyk. “We look forward to working with them on passage of the bill.”

H.R. 6433 would establish a pilot grant program under the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response (ASPR) at the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) for the recruitment and training of paramedics and EMTs. The grant program would be authorized from 2024 through 2028 with $50 million a year in funding.

The legislation would also provide states with funding to help facilitate and expedite the transition of medics coming out of military service with the requirements of becoming a civilian paramedic or EMT. The program would be authorized from 2024 through 2028 with $20 million a year in grant funding for states.

Lastly, H.R. 6433 would direct the Secretary of Labor to conduct a study on the EMS workforce shortage and issue a report to Congress. The report would include an analysis on potentially adding paramedics and EMTs to the list of health care occupations which benefit from an easier hiring process of professionals outside the U.S.

The American Ambulance Association, National Rural Health Association and Washington Ambulance Association have endorsed H.R. 6433. In the coming days, the AAA will be launching a Call to Action to encourage and assist our members in contacting their U.S. Representatives in support of cosponsoring H.R. 6433.

Thank you to all of the AAA members and volunteer leaders who worked tirelessly to push for the introduction of this important EMS legislation!

2023 AAA Legislative Awards

The American Ambulance Association is proud to announce the winners of the 2023 AAA Legislative Awards. Each Member of Congress is being recognized for their strong advocacy for emergency medical services and their ongoing dedication to ambulance services across the United States.

2023 AAA Legislators of the Year

Senator Bill Cassidy, M.D (LA)
Senator Jon Tester (MT)

2023 AAA Legislative Recognition Award Recipients


  • Senator Cortez Masto (NV)
  • Senator Collins (ME)
  • Senator Stabenow (MI)
  • Senator Schumer (NY)
  • Senator Lujan (NM)
  • Senator Kaine (VA)
  • Senator Murkowski (AK)
  • Senator Tuberville (AL)
  • Senator Murray (WA)
  • Senator Moran (KS)
  • Senator Boozman (AR)


  • Congressman Blumenauer (OR-3)
  • Congresswoman Kelly (IL-2)
  • Congresswoman Sewell (AL-7)
  • Congressman Wenstrup (OH-2)
  • Congressman Carter (GA-1)
  • Congressman Tonko (NY-20)
  • Congressman Davis (IL-7)
  • Congresswoman Perez (WA-3)
  • Congressman Finstad (MN-1)
  • Congressman Pence (IN-6)
  • Congressman Kim (NJ-3)
  • Congresswoman Clark (MA-5)
  • Congressman Zinke (MT-1)
  • Congressman Guest (MS-3)
  • Congresswoman Hoyle (OR-4)
  • Congressman Bost (IL-12)
  • Congressman Alford (MO-4)


Stay In Touch!

By signing up, you agree to the AAA Privacy Policy & Terms of Use